Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2009

 
Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 7:44 a.m. EDT (11:44 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1:45 a.m. EDT (5:45 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 5:18 p.m. EDT (21:18 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 12:47 p.m. EST (17:47 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
Steamboat, in Yellowstone National Park, is the largest active geyser in the world, sending water more than 300 ft. into the air for 3 to 20 minutes.

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Twitter icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks

highlights

Join BIC on our mission to save handwriting and Fight For Your Write! Writing helps kids become better readers, boosts their confidence and sparks their creativity. Visit BICFightForYourWrite.com to sign our petition to save handwriting!

7 Tips for Reading Aloud to Babies & Toddlers
The AAP advises reading aloud to babies and toddlers because it boosts brain power and has many other benefits. Get some tips for making the most of story time with your tot!

Kindergarten Readiness App Wins Gold
Our Kindergarten Readiness app won the Gold Award of Excellence in the educational category at the 2014 Communicator Awards. This valuable checklist comes with games and activities to help your child practice the essential skills she needs for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

How to Survive Summer Boredom
When the kids are home all day, every day, summer boredom strikes hard and fast. Learn the best summer boredom busters and tips for surviving until September.

12 Birthday Party Favors that Won't Get Thrown Away
The next time you're planning a birthday, forgo the penny candy and cheap toys. Send your guests home with one of these fun and creative party favor ideas!