Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2013

Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 7:02 A.M. EDT (11:02 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1:04 A.M. EDT (05:04 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 4:44 P.M. EDT (20:44 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 1:11 P.M. EDT (17:11 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Did you know?
After Greenland, New Guinea is the largest island in the world.

highlights

Bug Off! 6 Tick- and Mosquito-Borne Diseases
Which bug bites are dangerous? Learn about 6 diseases spread by ticks and mosquitoes, the signs and symptoms, and treatment options if someone in your family gets infected.

Find Today's Newest & Best Children's Books!
Looking for newly released books for your child? Try our new Book Finder tool to search for new books by age, type, and theme, brought to you by Galactic Hot Dogs.

Top 10 Backyard Party Games for All Ages
Looking for some fun outdoor games for your Fourth of July party or barbecue? Check out these awesome group games, from sack races to cornhole, to make your backyard a kid-friendly party spot!

Registered for Kindergarten — Now What?
Try our award-winning Kindergarten Readiness app! This easy-to-use checklist comes with games and activities to help your child build essential skills for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Facebook icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks