Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2014

Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 12:57 P.M. EDT (16:57 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 6:51 A.M. EDT (10:51 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 23, 10:29 P.M. EDT (02:29 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 6:03 P.M. EDT (23:03 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Did you know?
The length of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race course alternates between 1,151 miles and 1,161 miles each year.

highlights

7 Tips to Childproof Your Smartphone
Before you hand over your smartphone or tablet, follow these childproofing tips to help keep both your child and your device safe.

Find Today's Newest & Best Children's Books!
Looking for newly released books for your child? Try our new Book Finder tool to search for new books by age, type, and theme, and create reading lists for kids!

11 Survival Tips for Summer Boredom
When the kids are home all day, every day, summer boredom strikes hard and fast. Learn the best summer boredom busters for children of all ages.

Registered for Kindergarten — Now What?
Try our award-winning Kindergarten Readiness app! This easy-to-use checklist comes with games and activities to help your child build essential skills for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Facebook icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks