Movies visit the Family Entertainment Center for more entertainment resources
Browse by Title
Browse by Release Date

Knockout (2000)

Rating:PG-13 (for prizefight violence, language and brief drug content)
Genre:Drama, Action/Adventure
Release Date:February 4, 2000
Running time:100 minutes
Cast:Sophia Adella Hernandez, Maria Conchita Alonso, Paul Winfield, Tony Plana, Eduardo Yanez
Director:Lorenzo Doumani
Producer:Lorenzo Doumani, Simone Sheffield
Writer:Lorenzo Doumani, Mark Stevens
Distributor:Independent Artists

Description: In the mean streets of East L.A., a dying mother relays a valuable lesson to her precious 9-year-old daughter, Isabelle; "We shouldn't have to give up the thing we love to be with the one we love. Let your light shine" - a lesson she had learned after her husband gave up his boxing career for his family. Fifteen years later, Belle has a dream of her own: to continue the journey her father began and become a champion. Does this Knock-Out have what it takes to make it in the cold, cruel world of boxing - a world exceedingly dominated by men? In the tradition of Champion, Rocky, and Raging Bull, get ready for boxing's main event!

Movie summaries and listings powered by Cinema-Source

highlights

Special Books for the Kids You Love
Celebrate 20 years of sharing love to the moon and back with the anniversary edition of Guess How Much I Love You, one of the world’s best-loved picture books. Plus, search our Book Finder for more great book picks. Brought to you by Candlewick Press.

Vote Now for the Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards
Voting is open now through May 3 for the Children's and Teen Choice Book Awards — the only national book awards program where the winning author, illustrator, and books of the year are selected by young readers. Encourage your child to vote for his favorites today!

Top 10 Math & Science Apps for Your Whiz Kid
Looking for the best math and science apps for kids? Check out these cool apps for all ages, which will grow your child's love of the STEM subjects (science, technology, engineering, and math).

Registered for Kindergarten — Now What?
Wondering what to do now that you've signed your child up for kindergarten? Try our award-winning Kindergarten Readiness app! This easy-to-use checklist comes with games and activities to help your child build essential skills for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Facebook icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks