Movies

Browse by Title
Browse by Release Date

Knockout (2000)

Rating:PG-13 (for prizefight violence, language and brief drug content)
Genre:Drama, Action/Adventure
Release Date:February 4, 2000
Running time:100 minutes
Cast:Sophia Adella Hernandez, Maria Conchita Alonso, Paul Winfield, Tony Plana, Eduardo Yanez
Director:Lorenzo Doumani
Producer:Lorenzo Doumani, Simone Sheffield
Writer:Lorenzo Doumani, Mark Stevens
Distributor:Independent Artists

Description: In the mean streets of East L.A., a dying mother relays a valuable lesson to her precious 9-year-old daughter, Isabelle; "We shouldn't have to give up the thing we love to be with the one we love. Let your light shine" - a lesson she had learned after her husband gave up his boxing career for his family. Fifteen years later, Belle has a dream of her own: to continue the journey her father began and become a champion. Does this Knock-Out have what it takes to make it in the cold, cruel world of boxing - a world exceedingly dominated by men? In the tradition of Champion, Rocky, and Raging Bull, get ready for boxing's main event!

Movie summaries and listings powered by Cinema-Source

highlights

Vote Now for the Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards
Voting is open now through May 3 for the Children's and Teen Choice Book Awards — the only national book awards program where the winning author, illustrator, and books of the year are selected by young readers. Encourage your child to vote for his favorites today!

Find Today's Newest & Best Children's Books!
Looking for newly released books for your child? Try our new Book Finder tool to search for new books by age, type, and theme, and create reading lists for kids!

10 Best Outdoor Toys of 2015
Looking for an amazing toy that will keep your child playing outside until the sun goes down? See our picks for 10 hot new outdoor toys for all ages.

Registered for Kindergarten — Now What?
Wondering what to do now that you've signed your child up for kindergarten? Try our award-winning Kindergarten Readiness app! This easy-to-use checklist comes with games and activities to help your child build essential skills for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Facebook icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks